Record a browser clickpath

Your web application provides certain key functionality to your customers that is critical to the success of your business. Monitoring your application via browser clickpaths ensures that this functionality is available to your customers 24/7.

With our easy-to-use Dynatrace Synthetic Recorder (a Google Chrome browser plugin), you can gain visibility into the availability and performance of your application's most important functionality involving all the elements of your IT infrastructure with just a few clicks.

Use the Dynatrace Synthetic Recorder to record the exact sequences of interaction that you want your simulated user visits to follow when browser monitors are replayed. You can record button clicks, page scrolls, and even user input. The recorder captures each event and converts it into a script that is played back each time you run the clickpath.

Install the Dynatrace Synthetic Recorder plugin

You need to install Dynatrace Synthetic Recorder to begin. After installation, the recorder is automatically updated whenever new features become available.

  1. Select Synthetic from the navigation menu.
  2. Click Create a synthetic monitor > Create a browser monitor.
  3. First-time users are asked to install the Chrome plugin. Click Install Dynatrace recorder at the bottom of the page.
  4. On the extension page, click Add to Chrome > Add Extension.

Record a browser clickpath

  1. Select Synthetic from the navigation menu.
  2. Click the Create a synthetic monitor button.
  3. Click Create a browser monitor.
  4. Enter a valid URL for your clickpath on the Configure a browser monitor page. Note that the Record a clickpath button is now enabled at the bottom of the page.
  5. Continue to configure the monitor—device profile, frequency, monitoring locations, and optionally, automated login and additional HTTP headers. Click Record clickpath when done.
  6. In the recorder browser instance that pops up, click through your application to simulate a key use case (for example, logging in, searching for a product, or placing an order). As you interact with your application, each action is recorded for future playback.
  7. When done, click the Dynatrace plugin icon on your browser's menu bar to see a list of recorded actions and Finish recording.
  8. Events in your recorded clickpath are displayed. You can edit each event, for example, to add content validation or adjust wait time where needed.
  9. Click Continue. (You can also Cancel, Playback, or Record your clickpath again.)
  10. On the Summary screen, you can review and change your configuration (Change URL or name; Change configuration).
  11. Click Create browser monitor. Within a few minutes, you'll receive monitoring data for your new browser clickpath.

View the analytics of a browser clickpath

  1. Select Synthetic from the navigation menu.
  2. Optionally, click Browser clickpath to filter for browser clickpaths.
  3. From the list of monitors, click the browser clickpath you want to examine. You'll then be directed to the overview page of the clickpath.

The overview page of each monitor provides detailed results, for example, availability metrics and problems detected.

Click the Browse button (...) and select View report. Select the month and week for your report time frame.

While on the Availability report page, you can choose to receive a weekly or a monthly availability report and even share the report by clicking the Browse (...) button and selecting the respective option.

When you first set up your monitors, reports are available after the first weekly run (made at midnight on Sundays).

Disable or delete a browser clickpath

  1. Navigate to the Synthetic dashboard.
  2. Opt to view the dashboard in list format.
  3. Check the box next to the monitor you want to delete or disable.
  4. Click Delete or Disable at bottom right.

You can also delete a monitor from the overview page:

  1. Select Synthetic from the navigation menu.
  2. Select the monitor you're interested in.
  3. Click the Browse (...) button and, depending on what you want to do, select either Disable or Delete.