Share dashboards

You can share your dashboards with anyone, even if they don't have their own accounts within the same Dynatrace environment.

To share a dashboard

  1. Display the dashboard you want to share.
    • To display a dashboard, select Dashboards from the navigation menu and select the name of the dashboard.
  2. Select the browse menu (...) in the upper-right corner of the dashboard and select Share.
  3. Select Advanced settings to open Dashboard settings to the Manage access tab.
  4. Turn on Share this dashboard.
  5. Specify the sharing details as described below.
  6. Select Save changes.

To stop sharing a dashboard

  1. Display the dashboard you want to stop sharing.
    • To display a dashboard, select Dashboards from the navigation menu and select the name of the dashboard.
  2. Select the browse menu (...) in the upper-right corner of the dashboard and select Share.
  3. In the pop-up, turn off Share this dashboard.

Any share settings you made previously are preserved and will be reactivated if you turn Share this dashboard back on.

Grant access to an authenticated user

To grant access to an authenticated Dynatrace user

  1. Under Access permissions, select Grant access permission.

  2. From the Who to grant access to list, select Specific user.

  3. From the User list, select the user to whom you want to grant access.

  4. From the What they should be able to do with the dashboard, select Edit or View.

  5. Select Save changes.
    The specified user is added to the list under Grant access permission.

    • If Share this dashboard is turned on, the selected user now has access to your dashboard as you specified above (Edit or View).
    • To change the access type (Edit or View), select Details for that user and change What they should be able to do with the dashboard.
    • To revoke this access, select Delete for that user.

    Users assigned the Edit permission can edit shared dashboards.

    • Be careful about sharing edit permission: changes someone else makes to a dashboard will affect all users who share the dashboard.
    • If you attempt to edit a dashboard that is currently being edited by another user, you'll see a notification. When two users edit the same dashboard at the same time, the most recently saved changes take precedence over earlier changes.

Grant access to a user group

To grant access to everyone in a Dynatrace user group

  1. Under Access permissions, select Grant access permission.

  2. Under Who to grant access to, select Specific group.

  3. Under User group, select the group to whom you want to grant access to your dashboard.

  4. From the What they should be able to do with the dashboard, select Edit or View.

  5. Select Save changes.
    The specified user group is added to the list under Grant access permission.

    • If Share this dashboard is turned on, everyone in the selected user group now has access to your dashboard as you specified above (Edit or View).
    • To change the access type (Edit or View), select Details for that user group and change What they should be able to do with the dashboard.
    • To revoke this access, select Delete for that user group.

    Users assigned the Edit permission can edit shared dashboards.

    • Be careful about sharing edit permission: changes someone else makes to a dashboard will affect all users who share the dashboard.
    • If you attempt to edit a dashboard that is currently being edited by another user, you'll see a notification. When two users edit the same dashboard at the same time, the most recently saved changes take precedence over earlier changes.

Grant access to all authenticated users

To grant access to all authenticated Dynatrace users

  1. Under Access permissions, select Grant access permission.
  2. Under Who to grant access to, select All authenticated users.
  3. Select Save changes.
    All authenticated users is added to the list of permissions under the Grant access permission button.
  4. Display the dashboard, copy the address from the browser address line, and share the address with Dynatrace users who should access the dashboard. If Share this dashboard is turned on, any user who uses that address can view the dashboard.
    • The dashboard is not listed on other users' Dashboards table until they first use the address.
    • To revoke this access, select Delete in the All authenticated users

You can combine these options. For example, you might grant edit access to certain individual dashboard developers and grant view access to certain other users or groups in your organization.

Grant anonymous access

You can grant anonymous access to your dashboard based on distributable links to the dashboard:

  • Anonymous access grants view permission only
  • You can specify links per management zone

To create a shareable link to your dashboard that can be used by anyone (with no authentication)

  1. Under Anonymous access, select Add anonymous access link.
  2. From Management Zone for anonymous access link, select a management zone or leave it set to default.
    • Which management zones are available depends on your permissions when you create the link.
  3. Select Save changes.
    A shareable link is displayed under Anonymous access link.
  4. Select Copy link to copy the link to the clipboard. Paste the link to any message you send referring to the dashboard.

Repeat this procedure to create multiple anonymous links.

  • If a default timeframe and management zone are set for the dashboard, the link is shared with those settings. Otherwise, the link is shared with the timeframe of last 2 hours and All management zone.
  • If the dashboard is shared with the All management zone, a recipient of the link has access to the management zones that you had access to when you created the link.

To revoke a shareable link to your dashboard that can be used by anyone (with no authentication)

  1. Under Anonymous access, locate the link.
  2. Select Delete in that link's row and then select Save changes.

A shared link has the creator's permissions, not the recipient's permissions.

  • Anyone using a link you create can see everything you see through that link (such as management zones).
  • If you lose permissions, people using your link also lose those permissions.

To maintain stricter control over who can see your dashboard, use the authenticated options per user, group, or environment.