Create dashboards

Dynatrace makes it easy to create your own fully customizable dashboards. You can easily create, modify, delete, and switch between dashboards.

To create a dashboard:

  1. Select Dashboards from the navigation menu.
  2. Select Create dashboard in the top of the dashboards table.
    Create dashboard
  3. Type in a Dashboard name and click Create. The dashboard then opens in edit mode.
  4. Customize your new dashboard with tiles. To add a tile, drag it from the tile catalog and drop it on an open spot on your dashboard. The tile configuration settings are then displayed automatically. Changes are rendered instantly as you edit a tile your configuration, so your changes are always shown in context with the rest of your dashboard.
  5. By default, your new dashboard uses the global analysis timeframe and management zone. You can configure a dashboard-specific timeframe and management zone on the Settings tab of the Edit dashboard panel. Just enable the respective toggles and configure your desired settings.
  6. On the Settings tab, you can also enable dashboard reports. For more information, see Subscribe to dashboard reports.

Clone an existing dashboard

You can't customize or share dashboards for which you only have viewing permission. To customize such a dashboard, clone it first. This results in an exact copy of the original dashboard, which you can then modify and share.

  1. Select Dashboards from the navigation menu.
  2. Click the Browse button (...) on the right-hand side of the dashboards table and select Clone.
    Clone dashboard
  3. The newly cloned dashboard opens in edit mode. You can modify it straight away.

Add tiles to dashboards

Once in edit mode, you can populate your dashboard with relevant tiles.

To add a tile to your dashboard

  1. While in dashboard edit mode, browse the Tiles tab for the tile you want to add to your dashboard.
  2. When you find the required tile, drag it from the tile catalog and drop it on an open spot on your dashboard. The tile configuration settings are then displayed automatically.
  3. Configure the new tile as indicated and click Done.

To edit a tile

  1. While in dashboard edit mode, select the tile you want to edit. The tile configuration settings are then displayed automatically.
  2. Change the configuration as needed, and click Save.

To delete a tile from your dashboard, select it and click the Delete tile button.

Delete a dashboard

To delete a dashboard

  1. Select Dashboards from the navigation menu.
  2. Click the Browse button (...) in the right-hand side of the dashboards table and select Delete.
  3. In the bottom panel, click Delete to confirm the deletion.