Update Dynatrace Managed

To run a successful update, you need at least 5 GB of available disk space on the partition where Dynatrace Managed is installed. For details see Managed hardware requirements.

Update of Dynatrace Managed consists of two steps:

  1. Downloading the update package.
  2. Performing the actual update.

Updates of Dynatrace Managed can only be done sequentially with regard to versions. If your Dynatrace Managed cluster currently runs for example, version 1.212 and you want to upgrade it to version 1.218, you'll have to upgrade first to version 1.214 and then to version 1.216.

Update package download

By default, update packages are downloaded automatically as soon as they are available to your cluster.

However, if you need strict control over download packages, you can opt-out from automatic download of updates. In that case, you need to update your license. Please contact a Dynatrace ONE product specialist by selecting the chat button in the upper-right corner of the Dynatrace menu bar. For air-gapped deployment (not connected to Mission Control) or when you opt-out from automatic download, you will receive an email notification whenever a new update package is available. It will contain a link to download the update packages, so you can upload it manually to the cluster.

Use Cluster Management Console (CMC) to upload the patch to the cluster. In the Dynatrace menu, go to Settings > Automatic update and select Upload. Cluster Management Console will propagate the update package to all of the nodes. If you do not want to use the UI, you can manually copy the extracted cluster installer files to the <INSTALLATION_DIR>/installer/upgrade directory on each cluster node.

For automatic updates, specify a convenient time for the system to upgrade itself (for example, during a maintenance window).

Update in progress

Your monitoring and cluster management pages won't be accessible during the upgrade process if your cluster consists of less than 3 nodes.

To define a start time for automatic updates:

From the navigation menu, select Settings > Automatic update.

Set the Install Dynatrace cluster updates automatically switch to the On position.

This switch is disabled if your license doesn't allow to opt-out from automatic updates. To change your license allowance, contact Dynatrace ONE via help chat.

Specify a weekly maintenance window start time. Dynatrace Managed updates will start at the time you specify.

Manually triggered update

For manually triggered updates, you have to trigger the actual update with the user interface (in the Dynatrace menu, go to Settings > Automatic update) or via the Cluster REST API. Once triggered, the update process is performed in the same way as in the automatic updates. Typically, you would use the manually triggered update if you wish to initiate the update outside scheduled maintenance window.

Manual update

For manual update, you must manually initiate the update script on each node. Since the node that's being updated isn't operating, it's crucial that you manually update in sequence: Wait until the node update completes before starting an update on the next node.

To manually update the cluster, perform this procedure for each node in sequence one node at a time:

Find the update package script in <INSTALLATION_DIR>/installer/upgrade

Give the update package executable permissions. Use Linux chmod command.

[root@localhost]# chmod +x update_package.sh

As a root user, execute the update script. Once the update completes successfully, move to the next node and repeat the procedure.

[root@localhost]# ./update_package.sh

Dynatrace Managed version check

To check which Dynatrace Managed version you currently use:

Log into Cluster Management Console or one of your monitoring environments.

Open the User menu in the top right corner. The version number appears at the bottom right corner of the User menu.

Alternatively,

Navigate to the home page of your Cluster Management Console, where you can view your Dynatrace Managed deployment status.

Click a Dynatrace Managed node to open the overview page of this node. The installed version appears right under the title of the page.