How do I preserve my configured settings during Security Gateway upgrades?

Dynatrace stores Security Gateway configuration settings in Upon each upgrade, is updated and the existing settings are overwritten (with some exceptions—see below). To avoid losing your settings with each upgrade, use Whenever you need to configure a Security Gateway setting (for example, proxy, port, or memory dumps), do this in the file and then simply restart Security Gateway.

The file is preserved during Security Gateway upgrade; it's copied in its entirety from your existing installation to the new one.

Upgrading from versions not supporting

This feature is available for versions 135 and higher. In earlier versions, only the file exists. If you're upgrading from a version of Dynatrace earlier than 135, then some properties will be automatically transferred from in the old installation to in the new installation.

If the settings you want to preserve won't be transferred automatically

  1. Copy the settings from to a safe place.
  2. Following the upgrade, insert the copied settings into the appropriate section of the file, not If no relevant section exists, create a section with the appropriate name (section names are enclosed in brackets, for example [http.client]).

Keep in mind that takes precedence over Therefore, if a setting occurs in both files, the value of the setting in the file will take precedence. Also, command line settings (if any) take precedence over those stored in