How do I share a custom dashboard?

You can share your dashboards with team members who have their own Dynatrace accounts within the same Dynatrace environment.

Dashboards can't be shared publicly or with team members who don't have permission to access the related Dynatrace environment.

There are two approaches to sharing a dashboard:

  • Share dashboard via link. Anybody who has the link can view the dashboard, but they can't modify the dashboard.
  • Share dashboard with specific users. Only selected users can view the dashboard. You can also assign permission for modifying shared dashboards.

To share a custom dashboard via a link

  1. Select Dashboards from the navigation menu.
  2. Click the browse button (...) in the upper-right corner of the dashboard tile and select Share.
  3. Select the Anyone with link can access radio button.
  4. Click Copy to copy the dashboard link to your clipboard.
  5. Share the link with team members, who must log in to the Dynatrace environment to view the dashboard.

You can also use the Browse (...) > Share button in the upper-right corner of the dashboard itself.

Share with specific users

Once you share a dashboard with specific users, those users can access the dashboard on their Dashboards page.

To share a custom dashboard with specific users

  1. Select Dashboards from the navigation menu.
  2. Click the Browse button (...) in the upper-right corner of the dashboard tile and select Share.
  3. Click Manage access.
  4. On the Manage access page, select the Specific users and anyone with the link radio button.
  5. Click the Add user button.
  6. Type the name of the user account with whom you want to share the dashboard.
  7. Select the access permission, and click Add user.

Edit shared dashboards

Users assigned the Edit permission can edit shared dashboards. Use this permission carefully, as changes affect all users who share the dashboards.

If you attempt to edit a dashboard that is currently being edited by another user, you'll see a notification. Please note, when two users edit the same dashboard at the same time, the most recently saved changes have precedence over earlier changes.

To edit a dashboard for which you don't have editing permission, consider cloning the dashboard. As the owner of a cloned dashboard, you can modify the dashboard as required.