Remove a cluster node

You can easily remove a cluster node using the Dynatrace Managed Cluster Management Console. However, as removing a cluster node essentially means uninstalling Dynatrace Managed, you can alternatively use the command prompt to remove a cluster node. Both approaches are described below.

Remove a cluster node using the command prompt

Log into the Linux machine where Dynatrace Managed is installed. Using root rights, execute the following command:

/bin/sh dynatrace-managed.sh --uninstall

All Dynatrace Managed data will be deleted from the machine once the script is successfully executed.

Remove a cluster node using the Cluster Management Console

Before you can remove a node from a Dynatrace Managed cluster, you must first disable the node.

Disable a cluster node

To disable a cluster node

  1. Log in as an administrator. Use your Dynatrace Managed URL or a cluster node that you want to keep (you can't remove a node while you're logged into the node).
  2. Select Home from the Cluster Management Console navigation menu.
  3. Click the cluster node you want to disable to access the node's overview page.
  4. Click the Browse button (...) in the top right corner.
  5. Select Disable node to stop monitoring data processing on the node. If you want to temporarily exclude the node from a cluster, stop here and enable the node later. Dynatrace Managed will keep running on the machine but it won't process monitoring data.

Remove a disabled cluster node

Note:

  1. Before proceeding with node removal, it's recommended that you wait for at least the duration of the transaction storage data retention period (up to 35 days). This is because while all metrics are replicated in the cluster, the raw transaction data isn't stored redundantly. Removing a node before its transaction storage data retention period expires may impact code-level and user-session data analysis.
  2. Remove no more than one node at a time. To avoid data loss, allow 24 hours before removing any subsequent nodes. This is because it takes up to 24 hours for the long-term metrics replicas to be automatically redistributed on the remaining nodes.

To remove a disabled cluster node

  1. Log in as an administrator. Use your Dynatrace Managed URL or a cluster node that you want to keep (you can't remove a node while you're logged into the node).
  2. Select Home from the navigation menu to navigate to the Dynatrace Managed cluster nodes page.
  3. Click the cluster node you want to remove to access the node's overview page.
  4. Click the Browse button (...) in the top right corner.
  5. Select Remove node. The node will then stop and be completely uninstalled from your server instance.

Note : Dynatrace Managed shows dead and removed nodes for 7 days. However even once a dead node is no longer displayed on the clusters page, the node is still registered. To remove a node entirely, you must remove the node manually.

Note: Following removal of an existing cluster node, you must wait 72 hours before installing a new node on a host that shares the same IP (i.e., when re-installing on the same host).