Update Wizard

Use the Update Wizard to install manage updates and view update history.

Installing an update

Access the Update Wizard and download the update

Start the AppMon Client and click Tools > Manage Updates. The Dynatrace Server Settings dialog box appears and displays the Updates pane.

The AppMon Client must be connected to an AppMon Server to enable the Manage Updates menu command. For the standalone Client, you must first select the AppMon Server on which the update should be installed. For the Webstart Client, the Server from which you started the Webstart Client is the only Server available.

Download the update from the AppMon product download site. You can also download updates using the Community Portal link on the Updates pane. Extract the contents to local temp folder on the Client machine.

Upload the update for installation

Click Add to start the Update Wizard.

Click Select File and navigate to the update*.dtf you want to install. Select the file and click Open to add the update file to the Server. Click Next.

You can also open Windows file explorer separately to navigate to and double-click the desired update*.dtf file to open the wizard with the file already selected.

The Wizard prompts you to verify installing the update. Click OK. The wizard uploads the file for installation and shows the upload progress.

An error message displays if the update is currently is use. If this happens, you must deactivate and re-install the update. See Online license activation and deactivation for more information.

Click Next when the upload completes. The Configure Rollout Action page appears.

Choose one of the following rollout actions:
Complete Install: Automatically updates agents to the agent version of the selected update.
Controlled Install: Selectively install the update on specified Agents.
Rollback: Use the update rollback feature to revert to a previously installed update or restore the originally installed version of AppMon.

Complete install  

Click Complete Install and optionally enter a comment for the install, then click Next. The Rollout Overview page appears.

The update file is automatically added to the server and the rollout action is configured for a complete install. You must apply the change to the AppMon components.

Click Next to apply the changes.

Click Next to synchronize and restart collectors. On the Synchronize and Restart Collections step, click the appropriate button to either Synchronize and restart all Collectors automatically or Select Collectors that should be synchronized and restarted.

If opting to select collectors, the Select Collectors for Restart page appears. Click appropriate check boxes to select the collectors to restart.

Click Next. You can see the progress. Once the collector synchronization process completes,

Click Next at the Restart Server step, then click the appropriate button to either to restart the server now or start it later manually.

If restarting now, the server restart may take several minutes. Remember to restart the server yourself after the install if choosing a manual restart.

Click Next. The bootstrapped Agents to restart display on the Restart Agent tiers page. To update bootstrapped Agents, you must restart the tier that is monitored by the Agent. It may take a few minutes until the first Agents appear in the restart overview. The overview updates every 15 seconds.

Click Finish and Yes when prompted to restart the Client and complete the update installation process.

To selectively install the update on specified Agents, click Controlled Install. For more details, see Controlled Install.

Apply the changes to deploy the update to the Collectors. This step may take a while (especially for large environments).

For the remaining steps in the wizard, choose when to restart the Collectors and Server. If an AppMon Collector is part of a Collector group, you have to restart the whole group, which makes the single Collector unselectable.

Controlled install

Use the Enforce Agent version feature instead.

Roll back an update

Use the update rollback feature to revert to a previously installed update or restore the originally installed version of AppMon. To successfully complete the rollback process, the following conditions must be met:

  • You can immediately restart the AppMon Server and its Collectors.
  • You can restart related applications and Agent services.
  1. Click Tools > Manage updates and click the Management tab.
  2. Click Manage. The Configure Update Rollout Action page appears.
  3. Select Rollback and the version to revert to. If you select root, all updates are disabled and the originally installed AppMon version is restored.
  4. Click Next and follow the instructions in the wizard to complete the rollback process.

After you roll back the update, it appears as inactive on the Management tab. The History tab displays a record of when the update was rolled back.